Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 84 | Number 3

Article 5

2022

Mississippi Historical Society Awards Prizes at the 2022 Annual Meeting

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

Recommended Citation

(2022) "Mississippi Historical Society Awards Prizes at the 2022 Annual Meeting," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 84: No. 3, Article 5. Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol84/iss3/5

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Mississippi Historical Society Awards Prizes at the 2022 Annual Meeting



Ellie J. Dahmer (second from left) received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Daphne Chamberlain (right), vice president for strategic initiatives and social justice at Tougaloo College and MHS vice president.

The Mississippi Historical Society held its annual meting March 10– 11, 2022, in Hattiesburg to honor its 2022 award winners, including the best Mississippi History Book of 2021, the lifetime achievement award, teacher of the year, and awards of merit.

Ellie J. Dahmer, widow of Vernon Dahmer, received the Lifetime Achievement Award for preserving the memory and accomplishments of Vernon Dahmer and promoting civil rights education.

Christian Pinnen, associate professor of history at Mississippi College, received the Book of the Year Award for *Complexion of Empire in Natchez: Race and Slavery in the Mississippi Borderlands*. According to the selection committee, "Pinnen weaves together legal history, race, and gender to show how the interplay of Native Americans, people of African descent, and European and American settlers created the changing landscape of slavery in early Mississippi."

Stuart Levin won the *Journal of Mississippi History* Article of the Year Award for "Beeson Academy/Hattiesburg Prep: A History in Context," which recounted the formation of a segregation academy in the 1960s. The Civil War & Reconstruction Governors of Mississippi Project received the first Excellence in History Award. The digital documentary project is a collaboration between MDAH, the Mississippi Digital Library, and the University of Southern Mississippi. It is digitizing the papers of governors in the 1860s and 1870s. The Outstanding Local Historical Society Award was presented to the Dancing Rabbit Genealogy and Historical Society for its preservation work in Carthage. The Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Steven R. White of Pearl High School.



The Teacher of the Year Award was presented by USM associate professor of history Rebecca Tuuri to Steven R. White of Pearl High School.

Awards of Merit were presented to Deborah Delgado for being the founder and director of the Historic Mobile Street Renaissance Festival, which for seventeen years has raised awareness about the historical importance of Mobile Street as a hub for civil rights activism in Hattiesburg; Glenda Funchess for leading the effort to erect four historical markers civil rights markers in Hattiesburg: Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Vernon Dahmer home, Rev. W.D. Ridgeway, and Peay v. Cox federal court case; Edwina Carpenter for modernizing the interpretation at the Mississippi's Final Stands Interpretive Center at Brices Crossroads in Baldwyn; Russell Guerin for writing *Early Hancock County, A Few of Her People and Some of Their Stories*; Else N. Martin for restoration and preservation of the Granly Danish-American colony in Jackson County; Friends of Raymond for providing funding to secure almost 44 acres at Raymond to preserve land at the site of the Battle of Raymond in 1863; Institute of Southern Jewish Life for their virtual vacation program featuring Mississippi sites; the Historical Society of Gulfport for the digitization of the Ralph Bean Architectural Collection as the Gulfport Museum of History's initial entry in the Mississippi Digital Library; the Library of Hattiesburg, Petal and Forrest County for their excellent virtual programming featuring history during the pandemic; the African American Military History Museum for recognizing and celebrating the service and sacrifice of African Americans in the military; the Mississippi Armed Forces Museum for serving as the military history museum for the state of Mississippi; Visit Hattiesburg for creating the Freedom Summer Driving Tour; and The Admissions Project, an online project on how private academies and public schools dealt with integration through firsthand accounts of students.



MHS board member Carter Burns present an Award of Merit to Latoya Norman for the African American Military History Museum.

Millsaps professor Stephanie Rolph completed her term as president of the Society and welcomed new president Daphne Chamberlain of Tougaloo College. Will Bowlin of Northeast Mississippi Community College was elected vice president. New board members are Roscoe Barnes, cultural heritage tourism manager at Visit Natchez; Barbara Boschert of Coahoma Community College; Keena Graham, Superintendent of the Medgar and Myrlie Evers Home National Monument; Anne Marshall, executive director of the Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library at Mississippi State University; Perry Sansing, special assistant to the chancellor for governmental affairs, University of Mississippi; and TJ Taylor, executive director of the Mississippi Cable Television Association (MCTA).



MHS vice president Daphne Chamberlain of Tougaloo College gave the Book of the Year Award to Christian Pinnen, associate professor of history at Mississippi College.