Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 83 | Number 3

Article 7

2021

Mississippi Historical Society Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting, March 5, 2021

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

Recommended Citation

(2021) "Mississippi Historical Society Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting, March 5, 2021," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 83: No. 3, Article 7. Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol83/iss3/7

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Mississippi Historical Society Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting March 5, 2021

The annual business meeting of the Mississippi Historical Society was held at 10 a.m. on Friday, March 5, 2021, via Zoom.

Marshall Bennett, president, Mississippi Historical Society (MHS), called the meeting to order and presided. William "Brother" Rogers, secretary-treasurer, MHS, acted as secretary for the meeting. Emma McRaney, assistant to the director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH), recorded the minutes.

The following business was transacted:

I. The president called the meeting to order at 10 a.m. and thanked everyone for attending.

II. The president suggested that the minutes of the March 5, 2020, annual meeting be approved as distributed. A motion to approve the minutes by acclamation was made by Carter Burns, seconded by Charles Westmoreland, and unanimously approved.

III. Susannah Ural presented the Nomination Committee Report. She presented officers and board members for consideration. On a motion by Dierdre Payne, seconded by Chris Goodwin, the nominations committee recommendations were unanimously approved. The nominations are listed below.

Officers for the term 2021–2022

President—Stephanie R. Rolph, Associate Professor of History, Millsaps College

Vice President (president-elect)—Daphne R. Chamberlain, Assistant Provost and Associate Professor of History, Tougaloo College

Secretary-Treasurer—Brother Rogers, Director of Programs and Communication Division, Mississippi Department of Archives and History

Immediate Past President-Marshall Bennett, former State Treasurer

The following five individuals are nominated to serve three-year terms on the Society's Board of Directors (2021–2024):

Joyce Dixon-Lawson, retired Curator of Research and Genealogy, Mississippi Department of Archives and History

April Holm, Associate Professor of History, University of Mississippi

Amanda Clay Powers, Professor and Dean of Library Services, Mississippi University for Women

Jeff R. Rosenberg, MS Coast NHA Historic Preservation Coordinator, Office of Restoration & Resiliency, Mississippi Department of Marine Resources

Sheren G. Sanders, Director of Honors and Assistant Professor of History, Alcorn State University

The following two individuals are nominated to serve three-year terms on the Society's Board of Publications (2021–2024), which provides guidance to the *Journal of Mississippi History*:

Daphne R. Chamberlain, Assistant Provost and Associate Professor of History, Tougaloo College

Stephanie R. Rolph, Associate Professor of History, Millsaps College

IV. Rogers presented the financial report for the Society. He shared that the largest expense is the *Journal of Mississippi History*.

V. Page Ogden gave an update on the work of the Finance/ Investment Committee. The president expressed his gratitude for the committee's work.

VI. The president expressed his appreciation to the Program Committee. Stephanie Rolph chaired the committee and thanked her peers for their dedication in organizing an outstanding program.

VII. The president recognized and expressed appreciation for the following individuals who were completing their terms of service on the board of directors: Shennette Garrett-Scott, Latoya Norman, Deirdre Payne, Christian Pinnen, and James Robertson. VIII. Carter Burns presented the Awards Committee Report. The awards are listed below.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Alferdteen Harrison, 1991 MHS president, co-founder of Smith Robertson Museum and Cultural Center, former director of Margaret Walker Alexander Center at Jackson State University

Book of the Year Award

Nancy Bristow—Steeped in the Blood of Racism: Black Power, Law and Order, and the 1970 Shootings at Jackson State College

Journal of Mississippi History Article of the Year Award

Robert Luckett—"James P. Coleman (1956–1960) and Mississippi Poppycock" from *The Journal of Mississippi History*, Vol. 81, No. 1 and No. 2—Spring/Summer 2019

Outstanding Local Historical Society Award

Woodville Civic Club

Teacher of the Year Award

Theresa Moore, Sacred Heart School, Hattiesburg

Awards of Merit

Commission to Redesign the Mississippi State Flag

Corinth Contraband Camp Project, Corinth (Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center, Corinth Area Convention and Visitors Bureau, Northeast Mississippi Community College)

Friends of Vicksburg National Military Park and Campaign, Vicksburg

Oren Dunn City Museum, Tupelo

Columbus Municipal School District for Union Academy and Franklin Academy, Columbus

Mary Graham, President, Gulf Coast Community College, for donation of two significant collections: the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College C.C. "Tex" Hamill *Down South Magazine* Collection and the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Dixie Press Collection

IX. Rogers gave an update on the publications of the *Journal of Mississippi History*. He stated that a new issue, Fall/Winter 2020, will be published soon and that the Spring/Summer 2021 issue will be published in the summer of 2021.

X. Rogers gave a report from the Publications Committee on behalf of John Marszalek. He stated that a new *Heritage of Mississippi Series* book, *Colonial Mississippi: A Borrowed Land* by Christian Pinnen and Charles Weeks, will be published soon.

XI. Rogers gave an update on *Mississippi History Now*. He stated that the Mississippi Humanities Council awarded a grant to MHS to modernize the MHN website. This work will be undertaken in the coming months.

XII. Rogers stated that the next annual meeting will be held in Hattiesburg on March 10–11, 2022. In 2023, the meeting will be held in Jackson, and then it will be in Oxford in 2024.

XIII. Al Wheat gave an update on National History Day. He also announced that MDAH is the official sponsor for Mississippi History Day.

XIV. Rogers presented resolutions of condolence for Thomas Boschert, William Scarborough, and Governor William Winter. On a motion by Robertson, seconded by Goodwin, the board voted unanimously approve the resolutions.

XV. Katie Blount provided an update on the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. She stated that despite being closed from March to May, the Department has had great success and visitors at the sites. She encouraged everyone to visit the Two Mississippi Museums to see the newest temporary exhibits—*I am a Man* and *Mississippi Distilled*.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned by the president.

Marshall Bennett, President William "Brother" Rogers, Secretary-Treasurer