Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 82 | Number 3

Article 5

2020

Mississippi Historical Society Awards Prizes at 2020 Annual Meeting

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

Recommended Citation

(2020) "Mississippi Historical Society Awards Prizes at 2020 Annual Meeting," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 82: No. 3, Article 5.

Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol82/iss3/5

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Mississippi Historical Society Awards Prizes at 2020 Annual Meeting



Ken P'Pool (center) won the Dunbar Rowland Award for lifetime achievement. He is pictured with past winners Lucy Allen and Elbert Hilliard.

The Mississippi Historical Society announced the recipient of its lifetime achievement award, honored the best Mississippi history book published in 2019, recognized the history teacher of the year, and presented other awards at its annual meeting held March 5-6, 2020, at Delta State University in Cleveland.

Ken P'Pool won the Dunbar Rowland Award for lifetime achievement, given in recognition of his major contributions to the preservation of Mississippi history. P'Pool began his career with the Mississippi Department of Archives and History in 1979 as an architectural historian and rose to the position of Director of the Historic Preservation Division and Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer. During his tenure, P'Pool spearheaded numerous historic preservation projects across the state and is widely known for his work on the restoration and preservation of buildings damaged by Hurricane Katrina on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. He was nominated by the Historic Natchez Foundation. P'Pool retired in 2018.



Dave Tell accepts the McLemore Prize from Dierdre Payne for his book Remembering Emmett Till.

Remembering Emmett Till, by University of Kansas professor Dave Tell, was awarded the McLemore Prize for best Mississippi history book of 2019. Published by the University of Chicago Press, the book examines the complexities of the 14-year-old Chicago boy's murder and how Till's story has been reflected throughout history.

Kevin Allemand Jr. received the John K. Bettersworth Award, presented annually to an outstanding history teacher. Allemand is an award-winning instructor who currently serves as the subject area supervisor and chairperson of the social studies department at Hancock High School in Kiln, Mississippi.

Jack Elliot Jr. and Sidney Bondurant were awarded the Willie D. Halsell Prize for the best article published in the *Journal of Mississippi History*. Their article, "Death on a Summer Night: Faulkner at Byhalia," examines the history of the Wright Sanatorium at Byhalia, an institution for alcoholics, and the background to the night of July 5–6, 1962, when Nobel-prize-winning author William Faulkner died there of a heart attack.

The Natchez Historical Society received the Frank E. Everett Jr. Award, which is given to a local historical society for outstanding achievements in the interpretation and preservation of Mississippi history.



 $\label{linear_equation} \textit{Jack Elliot Jr. (right) and Sidney Bondurant were awarded the Willie D. Halsell Prize for the best article.}$



Natchez Alderwoman Sarah Carter Smith accepts an Award of Merit for that city's new monument to the Parchman Ordeal.



An Award of Merit was presented for the 50th Anniversary Commemoration of the historic case of Hawkins v. Town of Shaw.

The 1969 Delta State College Black Student Sit-Ins Oral History Project won the Elbert R. Hilliard Oral History Award for telling the history of black student protests and demonstrations for civil rights on the Delta State campus.

Kaimara Herron of the University of Mississippi and Lindsay Rae Smith Privette of the University of Alabama were awarded the Glover Moore Prize and Franklin L. Riley Prize respectively for the best master's thesis and dissertation on subjects in Mississippi history. Herron's thesis is entitled, She Lived, Served, and Died: Caroline Barr, Black Domestic Workers, and the Threat of Memory in Lafayette County. Privette's dissertation is entitled, Fightin' Johnnies, Fevers, and Mosquitos: A Medical History of the Vicksburg Campaign.

Awards of Merit were presented to the Emmett Till Interpretive Center in Sumner, Forrest County Board of Supervisors for erecting a statue of Vernon Dahmer, city of Natchez for its monument to the Parchman Ordeal, and the Rev. George Lee Museum of African American History and Heritage and Fannie Lou Hamer Civil Rights Museum in Belzoni. Bolivar County recipients of Awards of Merit included the Amzie Moore House Museum and Interpretive Center, Grammy Museum

for its Mississippi Music Bar and the Mississippi Music Table, Mississippi Delta Chinese Heritage Museum, Railroad Heritage Museum, Delta Arts Alliance for renovating the Ellis Theater, the 50th Anniversary Commemoration Committee of the historic case $Hawkins\ v.\ Town$ of Shaw, and Dr. L.C. Dorsey Community Health Center Museum in Mound Bayou. These organizations were recognized for their outstanding archival, museum, and media interpretation work.



The Elbert R. Hilliard Oral History Award was presented for the 1969 Delta State College Black Student Sit-Ins Oral History Project.