The University of Southern Mississippi

The Aquila Digital Community

Faculty Senate Resolutions

Faculty Senate Archive

2012

Awards Committee Resolution

USM Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/faculty_senate_resolutions

Recommended Citation

USM Faculty Senate, "Awards Committee Resolution" (2012). *Faculty Senate Resolutions*. 54. https://aquila.usm.edu/faculty_senate_resolutions/54

This 2012/13 Resolution is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate Archive at The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Resolutions by an authorized administrator of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Resolution from Awards Committee

The Awards Committee recommends that the Junior Faculty Awards be administered by the Office of the Provost. Members of the Faculty Senate will continue to serve on the selection committee for the Junior Faculty Awards which include awards for excellence in teaching, research, and creative activity. The descriptions and eligibility criteria will not change.

The awards for community service and mentoring will be retired due to the low number of applicants.

This action will address two continuing issues: collection of materials and requests for stipends. The materials will be collected and distributed by the Provost's office staff and the Provost has agreed to fund the awards.

These were instituted at a time when members of the faculty Senate Awards committee were excluded from participation on various selection committees for university awards. The trend has been reversed and selected members of the Faculty Senate Awards Committee participate in the selection process for a number of awards including HEADWAE, Grand Marshall, Nin Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship, University Excellence Awards, and sabbaticals.