Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 81 | Number 3

Article 5

2019

Awards Presented at the 2019 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

Recommended Citation

(2019) "Awards Presented at the 2019 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 81: No. 3, Article 5.

Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol81/iss3/5

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Awards Presented at the 2019 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting



James F. Barnett Jr. accepts the Dunbar Rowland Award from Lance Harris.

The Mississippi Historical Society named the best Mississippi history book of 2018, announced the recipient of its lifetime achievement award, honored the history teacher of the year, and presented other awards at its annual meeting, held February 28–March 2, 2019, in Natchez.

James F. Barnett Jr. won the Dunbar Rowland Award, given in recognition of his major contributions to the study and interpretation of Mississippi history. Barnett joined the Mississippi Department of Archives and History in 1981 as site administrator of the Grand Village of the Natchez Indians. He became the first director of the newly established Historic Properties Division in 1982. During his tenure, Barnett helped oversee the reconstruction of the Coker House, a significant landmark property on the Champion Hill Battlefield, and was actively involved in the nomination of the "Forks of the Road" Slave Market site in Natchez to the National Register of Historic Places. Barnett authored The Natchez Indians: A History to 1735 (2007), Mississippi's Natchez Indians (2013), and the Beyond Control: The Mississippi River's New Channel to the Gulf of Mexico (2017).

Resisting Equality: The Citizens' Council, 1954-1989, by Millsaps College



Erin Kempker (right) presents the McLemore Prize to Stephanie R. Rolph for her book Resisting Equality: The Citizens' Council, 1954-1989.

professor of history Stephanie R. Rolph, was awarded the McLemore Prize for best Mississippi history book of 2018. The book, published by Louisiana State University Press, examines the creation of the Citizens' Council and its efforts to oppose desegregation.

"Dr. Rolph's analysis of the Citizens' Council drew from an impressive range of archival collections. In telling this history, she found and reviewed sources like Council-sponsored radio programming that had been untapped by previous historians," said Kempker. "Dr. Rolph extended her study into the 1970s and 80s and demonstrated how the Council nationalized and even internationalized their 'messages of grievance,' which impressed the McLemore Committee members."

Bruce Mize, West Point High School, received the John K. Bettersworth Award, presented annually to an outstanding history teacher. Mize, an award-winning instructor, has taught social studies at West Point High School for ten years. Previously, Mize taught at Gentry High School, Mississippi Virtual Public Schools, and Columbus High School. Mize has served as president of the Mississippi Council for Social Studies and has written seven publications related to pedagogy.

Ben Wynne, history professor at the University of North Georgia, won the William E. "Bill" Atkinson Award for Mississippi Civil War His-



Ben Wynne accepts the Atkinson Award from Susannah Ural for his book
The Man Who Punched Jefferson Davis.

tory for his book The Man Who Punched Jefferson Davis: The Political Life of Henry Stuart Foote, Southern Unionist.

Charles Dollar, a retired historian and archivist, won the Willie D. Halsell Prize for the best article published in the *Journal of Mississippi History* the previous year for his article, "Florence Latimer Mars: A Courageous Voice Against Racial Injustice in Neshoba County, Mississippi (1923–2006)".

The Yalobusha County Historical Society received the Frank E. Everett Jr. Award for outstanding contributions to the preservation and interpretation of Mississippi history. Marc LaFrancis won the Elbert R. Hilliard Oral History Award for his Mississippi World War II veterans oral history project.

Awards of Merit were presented to Sam Brookes, Jackson, for his outstanding work returning Native American artifacts from Ohio to the state of Mississippi; Mark LaFrancis, Robert Morgan, and Darrell White of the Natchez Association for the Preservation of African American History and Culture for their documentary "The Parchman Ordeal"; Stone County Economic Development Partnership for their use of historical markers to interpret and preserve history; Tom Watts for restoring the Thomas Hinds family cemetery in Jefferson County; and Heather Wilcox for the Mt. Olive Cemetery Project in Hinds County.



 $\label{thm:control} The \ Yalobusha \ County \ Historical \ Society \ receives \ the \ Frank \ E. \ Everett \ Jr.$ $Award \ for \ best \ local \ historical \ society \ from \ Will \ Bowlin.$



 $\label{lem:charles M. Dollar receives the Willie D. Halsell Prize for best article in the \\ \text{Journal of Mississippi History } from \textit{Will Bowlin}.$