The University of Southern Mississippi

The Aquila Digital Community

Faculty Senate Resolutions

Faculty Senate Archive

4-2013

Aubrey Lucas Appreciation Resolution

USM Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/faculty_senate_resolutions

Recommended Citation

USM Faculty Senate, "Aubrey Lucas Appreciation Resolution" (2013). *Faculty Senate Resolutions*. 53. https://aquila.usm.edu/faculty_senate_resolutions/53

This 2012/13 Resolution is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate Archive at The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Resolutions by an authorized administrator of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.



The university of southern mississippi Haculty Senate Resolution

PRESENTED TO

DR. AUBREY K. LUCAS

WHEREAS, Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas became the sixth president of The University of Southern Mississippi in 1975,

WHEREAS, Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas, in 1976, established a 32-member Faculty Council, which was later to become the Faculty Senate of The University of Southern Mississippi,

AND WHEREAS, Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas supported the mission that the Faculty Senate provide "faculty both a forum and a voice and so allow it to assert for the general welfare of the University its distinctive viewpoint and principles. As duly elected representatives of the faculty, the Senate shall act on matters relating to due process, governance, resource, allocation and university planning."

The Faculty Senate of The University of Southern Mississippi issues a formal resolution in recognition of the influence Dr. Lucas has had on faculty and administrative decision-making for the past 37 years and would like to thank him for his foresight in the establishment of The University of Southern Mississippi Faculty Senate.

Passed by the Southern Miss Faculty Senate on April 5, 2013