## Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 80 | Number 3

Article 5

2018

## Awards Presented at the 2018 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

## **Recommended Citation**

(2018) "Awards Presented at the 2018 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 80: No. 3, Article 5.

Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol80/iss3/5

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

## Awards Presented at the 2018 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting



Charles Eagles accepts the McLemore Prize from Elizabeth Payne.

The Mississippi Historical Society held its annual meeting March 1-3, 2018, at the Two Mississippi Museums—the Museum of Mississippi History and Mississippi Civil Rights Museum—in Jackson, where it honored its award winners. The McLemore Prize for best Mississippi history book of 2017 went to Charles Eagles for *Civil Rights, Culture Wars: The Fight over a Mississippi Textbook*, which was published by University of North Carolina Press.

"Eagles's book helps the reader to see the much-needed changes that Tougaloo College professor James Loewen and Millsaps professor Charles Sallis addressed in their 1974 textbook *Mississippi: Conflict and Change*," said Elizabeth Payne, University of Mississippi history professor and chair of the McLemore Prize committee. "Until Eagles's work, little to no attention had been paid to the pioneering work of Loewen and Sallis."

MDAH Museum Division director Lucy Allen received the Dunbar Rowland Award for her lifelong contributions to the preservation, study, and interpretation of Mississippi history. Allen came to the Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH) in 1978, working as an assistant curator of exhibits and director of education and programs. She



Lucy Allen receives the Dunbar Rowland Award from John Marszalek.

has been the director of the Museum Division since 2002. In 2011, Allen was named the Two Mississippi Museums project director and worked for five years leading a complex, intensive, accelerated process to plan and design the 200,000-square-foot facility.

"More than any other person, these buildings are a credit to the vision, commitment and the persistence of Lucy Allen," said MDAH director Katie Blount. "She always envisioned these museums as world-class institutions, and she never shrank from that vision, not when support was absent, not when money was tight, not when time was slipping away. No staff person has done more for these museums, over more years, than Lucy Allen."

Puckett High School teacher Jennifer Leigh Johnson received the John K. Bettersworth Award, presented to an outstanding history teacher. An instructor with eleven years of school experience, Johnson teaches U.S. history, world history, psychology, and law at Puckett High School. The Bettersworth Award includes a \$300 cash award.

Allison Collis Greene received the *Mississippi History Now* Award for her article "The Great Depression and Religion in Mississippi," which was posted in April 2017. The work is based on her 2016 book *No Depression in Heaven: The Great Depression, the New Deal, and the Transformation of Religion in the Delta*. Greene is associate professor of history at Mississippi State University.

Michael Ballard posthumously received the William E. "Bill" Atkinson Award for his outstanding lifelong contributions to the study and interpretation of Mississippi Civil War history. Ballard wrote eleven



Missy Jones (left) presents the John K. Bettersworth Award for best history teacher to Jennifer Leigh Johnson of Puckett High School.

books including A Long Shadow: Jefferson Davis and the Final Days of the Confederacy, Pemberton: A Biography, and Vicksburg: The Campaign That Opened the Mississippi. In 2005, Ballard received the Dunbar Rowland Award from the Mississippi Historical Society in recognition of his scholarly publications and other contributions to the documentation of Mississippi history.

Katrina Rochelle Sims, assistant professor of history at Hofstra University, was awarded the Franklin L. Riley Prize for her doctoral dissertation "Take the Mountain' The International Order of the Twelve Knights and Daughters of Tabor and the Black Health Care Initiative in the Mississippi Delta, 1938–1983."

Lisa Carol Foster, University of Southern Mississippi, was awarded the Glover Moore Prize for her master's thesis "To Mississippi, Alone, Can They Look for Assistance': Confederate Welfare in Mississippi."

Crystal Sanders, professor of history at Pennsylvania State University, was awarded the Willie D. Halsell Prize for the best article published in the *Journal of Mississippi History*. Her article "Dignity in Life and Death: Undertaker Clarie Collins Harvey and Black Women's Entrepreneurial Activism" appeared in the Fall/Winter 2014 issue.

The Itawamba Historical Society received the Frank E. Everett, Jr. Award for its outstanding contributions to the preservation and interpretation of local history.

Awards of merit were presented to the Center for the Study of Southern Culture at the University of Mississippi and University Press of Mississippi for their publication of the Mississippi Encyclopedia; the Chickasaw Inkana Foundation for its exemplary work in preserving the history and culture of the Chickasaw homeland; Gordon Cotton, director emeritus, Old Courthouse Museum in Vicksburg, for his series of articles written in commemoration of Mississippi's bicentennial; Ron Hague for his visionary leadership in establishing and administering the Pearl River Community College Museum in Poplarville; the Mississippi Department of Archives and History for effectively planning and administering the Two Mississippi Museums project; the Mississippi Museum of Art for its outstanding exhibit Picturing Mississippi, 1817-2017, Land of Plenty, Pain, and Promise; Duffy Neubauer for his work in establishing the Starkville Civil War Arsenal and for his outstanding contributions to living history; the Old Capitol Museum for "Present Meets Past," an exemplary living history program; the Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library for its exemplary work in preserving and making accessible the papers of President Grant and for creating engaging interpretive exhibits; and retired Rhode Island Chief Justice Frank J. Williams and Virginia Williams for the donation of their magnificent collection of Lincolniana to Mississippi State University.



Stephen Cunetto (center) and John Marszalek (right) accept an Award of Merit for the Grant Presidential Library from Walt Grayson.