Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 80 | Number 3

Article 6

2018

Program of the 2018 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting

Kevin Greene

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

Recommended Citation

Greene, Kevin (2018) "Program of the 2018 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 80: No. 3, Article 6.

Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol80/iss3/6

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Program of the 2018 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting

by Kevin Greene Chair, Program Committee

The Mississippi Historical Society (MHS) held its annual meeting March 1-3, 2018, at the Two Mississippi Museums in Jackson—the Museum of Mississippi History and Mississippi Civil Rights Museum. The program began on Thursday afternoon, March 1, with a meeting of representatives of the Federation of Mississippi Historical Societies, followed by the welcoming reception at the Old Capitol Museum. Afterward, the Society's board of directors gathered at the Fairview Inn for its annual dinner meeting.

The program sessions began on Friday, March 2, with welcoming remarks by Susannah J. Ural, president, MHS; Katie Blount, director, Mississippi Department of Archives and History (MDAH); and Elbert Hilliard, secretary-treasurer, MHS.

The morning program began with two concurrent sessions. Kevin Greene, director, Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage, University of Southern Mississippi, moderated a panel on blues music. Panelists were Rolando Herts, director, The Delta Center for Culture and Learning and MS Delta National Heritage Area, Delta State University; Scott Barretta, researcher and writer, The Mississippi Blues Trail and Instructor of Sociology and Anthropology, The University of Mississippi; and Jacqui Sahagian, editorial assistant, Living Blues Magazine. Herts addressed the International Delta Blues Project at Delta State University. Barretta discussed the work of Alan Lomax in the Delta, and Sahagian discussed the history of race records.

Pamela Junior, director, Mississippi Civil Rights Museum, moderated a session on the Civil Rights Movement, featuring panelists Flonzie Brown Wright, Civil Rights Movement veteran; Daphne Chamberlain-Wilson, assistant professor of history, Tougaloo College; and Stephanie Rolph, associate professor of history, Millsaps College.

Following the morning break, two more concurrent sessions took place. Mimi Miller, executive director, Historic Natchez Foundation, moderated



Flonzie Brown-Wright, Civil Rights Movement veteran, speaks about her book, Looking Back to Move Ahead.

a discussion about local preservation efforts.

Sarah Smith McEwen, president, Friends of the Mississippi River Basin Model, spoke about efforts to preserve and restore the model; Jessica Fleming Crawford, southeast regional director, The Archaeological Conservancy, discussed the conservancy's preservation of Prospect Hill Plantation in Jefferson County; and Marks Sokolosky-Wixon, executive director, La Pointe-Krebs Foundation, gave an update on work at the La Pointe-Krebs House in Pascagoula.

Andrew Wiest, founding director of the Dale Center for the Study of War and Society, The University of Southern Mississippi, moderated a panel on Mississippi and the Great War to mark the centennial of the war's end. Chad Daniels, former director, Mississippi Armed Forces Museum, talked about Camp Shelby during the Great War. Anne L. Webster, former director of reference services, MDAH, discussed her book *Mississippi Women and the Great War*.

Bo Morgan, professor of history, University of Southern Mississippi, delivered the keynote address at lunch about Mississippi during World War I. Page Ogden, vice president, MHS, presided and introduced Morgan. Rolando Herts delivered the invocation for the luncheon.

Additionally, the education section of MDAH presented a teacher

workshop on incorporating technology and best teaching practices into the social studies curriculum.

Following lunch, participants toured the Two Mississippi Museums, which had opened just four months earlier. That evening the president's reception and banquet were held at the Old Capitol Inn. For the third consecutive year, the winner of the McLemore Prize for the best book written on Mississippi history was the featured speaker at the banquet. Charles W. Eagles, William F. Winter professor of history, The University of Mississippi, won the McLemore Prize for his book *Civil Rights Culture Wars: The Fight over a Mississippi Textbook*. Elizabeth Payne, former director, McDonnell-Barksdale Honors College, University of Mississippi, presented the award to Dr. Eagles. Otis Pickett, assistant professor, Mississippi College, delivered the invocation.

On Saturday morning, March 3, the annual business meeting took place in the Craig H. Neilsen Auditorium of the Two Mississippi Museums. Afterward, two concurrent sessions were held. Daphne Chamberlain-Wilson moderated a panel called "Would Rather Die and Go to Hell: Mississippi Women's Suffrage." Panelists included Rebecca Rotter, Ph.D. candidate in history, University of Southern Mississippi, who presented a



Lucy Allen (center) and Cindy Gardner accept an Award of Merit from Walt Grayson for planning and administering the Two Mississippi Museums project.

paper, "The Man Lives Who is Astonished That Women Should Have Any Interest in Politics"; Derek Webb, special collections librarian/university archivist, Mississippi University for Women, who discussed suffragists at MUW; and Rebecca Tuuri, assistant professor of history, University of Southern Mississippi, who talked about black women's suffrage in the state.

Susannah J. Ural, president, MHS, presided over the awards luncheon. Deanne Stephens, professor of history, University of Southern Mississippi, delivered the invocation. Incoming president Page Ogden of Natchez adjourned the meeting.

The following members of the program committee deserve thanks for an interesting program: Kevin Greene (chair), James F. Barnett, Jr., Peggy W. Jeanes, Mary Carol Miller, Christian Pinnen, Kenneth H. P'Pool, Alysia Burton Steele, Susannah J. Ural, and Andrew Wiest. In addition, secretary-treasurer Elbert Hilliard and the staff at MDAH are to be commended for helping organize and implement the many details that made the annual meeting a success.



2017 MHS President Susannah J. Ural passes the gavel to 2018 MHS President Page Ogden.