Evolutionary relationships between aquatic anamorphs and teleomorphs: Tricladium and Varicosporium

Document Type


Publication Date



Coastal Sciences, Gulf Coast Research Laboratory


Tricladium, with 21 accepted species, is the largest genus of aquatic hyphomycetes. It encompasses species with dematiaceous as well as mucedinaceous colonies. Conidiogenesis is thalloblastic; conidiogenous cells proliferate percurrently or sympodially. Conidia have typically two alternate primary lateral branches. Fontanospora and Variocladium are segregates of Tricladium, differing by conidial branching. Varicosporium comprises nine species, one not well known. Conidiogenesis is blastic or thalloblastic, conidiogenous cells proliferate sympodially or are determinate; conidia regularly produce primary and secondary branches and often fragment into part conidia. Molecular analyses on the 28S rDNA of 86 isolates, including 16 species of Tricladium, five species of Varicosporium, two species of Fontanospora and one species of Variocladium, place these hyphomycetes within Helotiales. Tricladium is polyphyletic and placed in six clades; Varicosporium is polyphyletic and placed in three clades; Fontanospora is polyphyletic within a single clade. Variocladium is placed with poor support as a sister taxon to Varicosporium giganteum, Hymenoscyphus scutula and Torrendiella eucalypti. (C) 2009 The British Mycological Society. Published by Elsevier Ltd. All rights reserved.

Publication Title

Mycological Research



First Page


Last Page