A Study of Two Twentieth-Century "Orgelkonzerte" Based On "Es Sungen Drei Engel" By Johann Nepomuk David and Hans Friedrich Micheelsen

Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



First Advisor

Paul D. Andersen

Advisor Department



This study opens with a lengthy discussion of two significant German musical/cultural events of the twentieth century: the Orgelbewegung (organ reform movement) and the Lutheran church-music reform. This background information is provided in conjunction with data pertaining to the neoclassical school of composition prevalent in Europe in the 1920's through the 1940's, and the revitalization of the stylistic idea of polyphony and of historical organ forms. All of the above-mentioned phenomena are presented as crucial factors in the creation of the two selected Orgelkonzerte for organ alone: Es sungen drei Engel ein' s√ºßen Gesang, Geistliches Konzert f√ºr Orgel (1941) by Austrian composer Johann Nepomuk David (1895-1977) and Orgelkonzert ( √úber die Weise "Es sungen drei Engel ") (1943) by German composer Hans Friedrich Micheelsen (1902-1973). The second part of this study provides biographical information on the composers, David and Micheelsen, followed by a formal and stylistic analysis of each individual Orgelkonzert , as well as a summary of the melodic, harmonic, rhythmic/metric and notational characteristics of both works. The author's music-analytical commentaries are illustrated by sixty annotated musical examples. The study closes with suggestions regarding the performance of the works and an appendix on the corrections to the errata in J. N. David's Es sungen drei Engel ein' s√ºßen Gesang, Geistliches Konzert f√ºr Orgel published edition (Breitkopf & H√§rtel ) of 1941.