Date of Award

Spring 5-2008

Degree Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)


Educational Leadership and Research

Committee Chair

Wanda Maulding

Committee Chair Department

Educational Studies and Research

Committee Member 2

Aubrey Lucas

Committee Member 3

Mary Nell McNeese

Committee Member 4

Gary Peters


The Associated Colleges of the South is a consortium of liberal arts colleges founded in 1991. The consortium serves as a third-party agency to further the collective interests of the member institutions. Since its founding in 1991 and original membership of nine institutions, the consortium has grown to 16 member institutions. This research reviews literature relevant to the history and organization of voluntary consortia in the United States, the history of liberal arts colleges and the challenges that are faced by these institutions, and recent technology and how it affects higher education. In addition, the history of the consortia and the development of the collaborative programs is described, as are the thoughts and views of presidents of the thirteen member institutions regarding their institution's membership in the consortium.