Date of Award

Fall 12-2015

Degree Type

Masters Thesis

Degree Name

Master of Science (MS)


Biological Sciences

Committee Chair

Mac Alford

Committee Chair Department

Biological Sciences

Committee Member 2

Micheal Davis

Committee Member 2 Department

Biological Sciences

Committee Member 3

Franklin Heitmuller

Committee Member 3 Department

Geography and Geology


The vascular flora of Wayne County, Mississippi, was surveyed from 2013–2015, and the species of native and naturalized plants are listed. In total, 1,135 species were identified from field collections, previously collected herbarium specimens, and field observations. These belong to 556 genera and 165 families. Four of these species represent first recorded occurrences in the state of Mississippi: Blyxa aubertii Rich., Gomphrena serrata Pav. ex Moq., Isoetes valida (Engelm.) Clute, and Polypogon interruptus Kunth. GPS coordinates are given for important collection sites representing the diversity of plant communities in the county. All voucher specimens from the survey are deposited in the herbarium of The University of Southern Mississippi (USMS).