Date of Award

Fall 12-2014

Degree Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



Committee Chair

Mohamad Schuman

Committee Chair Department


Committee Member 2

Thomas V. Fraschillo

Committee Member 2 Department


Committee Member 3

Richard H. Perry

Committee Member 3 Department


Committee Member 4

Christopher Goertzen

Committee Member 4 Department


Committee Member 5

Daniel Beard

Committee Member 5 Department



This study tests the underlying beliefs and values motivating research and repertoire development as related to the American wind band. It seeks to examine the belief that a sizeable body of quality, original repertoire is the barometer for measuring the success of the American wind band movement. Preliminary research finds an overwhelming emphasis placed on quality original repertoire as the measure of validation for the American wind band. An absence of research on transcriptions and their relationship to the American wind band is evidenced. The utility of the study is related to the value judgment surrounding the musical integrity of transcriptions versus original compositions, as those values and beliefs shape the programming choices of conductors and, consequently, the development of the American wind band as a whole.

As a case study, Peter Graham's Harrison’s Dream is examined. Harrison’s Dream is the recipient of the 2002 American Bandmasters Association Ostwald Award for wind band composition. This is a unique occurrence, as it is the first international award recipient, and the first transcription to receive the prestigious award since the award‟s inception in 1956. Harrison’s Dream is contextualized by examining the historical development of the British Open Brass Band Championships and the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain as they relate to championship section test-pieces. This is combined with original research in the form of interviews solicited from three people closely associated with the events surrounding the 2002 American Bandmasters Association Ostwald Award designation: Dr. Thomas Fraschillo, 2001-2002 American Bandmasters Association Ostwald Award committee member; Dr. William Moody, Secretary-Treasurer of the American Bandmasters Association; and Peter Graham, composer of the award winning piece, Harrison’s Dream. Each interview participant offers their perspective on the award designation, the opinion of Harrison’s Dream as a transcription, and their beliefs and values relevant to the original repertoire debate.